The civilization is split into 4 hemispheres based upon lines of latitude and also longitude.

The Equator Divides the Northern and also Southern Hemispheres

The equator is an imaginary line the is equidistant indigenous the North and also South Poles. This line falls at zero degrees latitude.

The Equator is the line of zero levels latitude approximately the center of Earth and is the diving line between the northern and also southern hemispheres. Image: NASA, publicly domain.

The part of the earth that is phibìc of the equator is recognized as the north Hemisphere. The component of the planet that is southern of the equator is known as the southerly Hemisphere.

You are watching: Which continent is in all four hemispheres

Prime Meridian Divides the Eastern and also Western Hemispheres

The Western and also Eastern Hemisphere are separated by zero degrees longitude i m sorry is recognized as the element Meridian.

The western Hemisphere rectal the geographic an are west that the element meridian and also east of theantemeridian which lies in ~ 180 levels longitude.

The eastern Hemisphere is found east the the element Meridian and west of theantemeridian.

The element Meridian divides the people into the eastern and western hemispheres. Image: NASA, public domain.

The only Continent That have the right to Be uncovered in All four Hemispheres

While numerous of the world’s continents space traversed by the separation in between two hemispheres, over there is only one continent in the people that lies in all 4 hemispheres: Africa.

This geography reality also means that Africa is the just continent to have land both in ~ theEquator and the prime Meridian.

These 2 maps show how the continent of Africa lies in both the Northern and also Southern Hemispheres and also the Western and also Eastern Hemispheres.

Map of Africa and also the Northern and Southern Hemispheres


How many African countries does the Equator pass through?

The Equator passed v a complete of seven countries in Africa. Starting from the west to east these nations are: the island nation of São Tomé and also Príncipe,Gabon, Republic of Congo, theDemocratic Republic that the Congo (DRC),Uganda,Kenya,and Somalia.

See more: 12.5 Cm Is How Many Inches In 12, How To Convert 125 Cm To Inches

Map the Africa and also the Westernand EasternHemispheres


How many African countries does the prime Meridian happen through?

The prime Meridian crosses through 5 African countries. Beginning from north to south, these nations are: Algeria, Mali, Burkina Faso, Tongo, and Ghana.



Tags Africa, continents, hemispheres, homeschool geography, homework help, political geography enter your email to obtain the location Realm newsletter: